Table 1.

A classification system for some examples of autoimmune haemolytic anaemia

Warm AIHACold AIHA (cold agglutinins)Mixed AIHA
PrimaryIgG +/− C3 (mostly IgG)C3/C3d (known as CHAD)IgG + C3
SecondaryIgG +/− C3 (mostly IgG)C3/C3dIgG + C3
Secondary examplesLymphoproliferative disordersLymphoproliferative disordersLymphoproliferative disorders
(eg CLL and NHL)(eg NHL)(eg NHL)
Infections (eg CMV)Infections (eg EBV)Autoimmune disorders (eg SLE)
Autoimmune disordersAutoimmune disorders
(eg SLE)(eg SLE)
  • AIHA = autoimmune haemolytic anaemia; CHAD = cold haemagglutinin disease; CLL = chronic lymphocytic leukaemia; CMV = cytomegalovirus; EBV = Epstein–Barr virus; NHL = non-Hodgkin lymphoma; SLE = systemic lupus erythematosus.